Skip to content

The Fujifilm X100s Review…

Fujifilm X100s

Fujifilm X100s

The Fujifilm X100 had been on the top of my lust list for about a year. I stopped drooling, relented and bought (the updated Fujifilm X100s) this little delight, in silver. This is no technical review, there are plenty of blogs to gleen that information – I want great cameras with brilliant results. This camera comes with a fantastic APS-C sensor which is found in consumer SLR’s and handles amazingly in low light. The Fuji is a great urban/city camera, I bought the chestnut brown leather camera case with shoulder strap and this is how I proceeded to record my recent trip to Paris. Travelling around shooting at f2, it is amazing at capturing lens flare and bokeh. Where do I even begin to tell you about it capabilities, the square format shooting, shooting in film mode ‘Velvia’ for beautiful colour. B&W shots straight out of the bag, the beautiful sharp fixed 23mm lens, RAW or Jpeg. My friend Mark hit the nail on the head when he said to me recently “It makes image making so much fun, it makes you want to get out there and shoot”. Do I think as reported that it is the death of the DSLR, no I don’t, if you are a landscape photographer you still need a DSLR for better dynamic range and clarity. But, it is an amazing second camera.

The Golden Hour at Ullswater - Lake District

The Golden Hour at Ullswater – Lake District.  Wide open at f2.

A very, very early morning hike and a backwards shot of Derwent Water

A very, very early morning hike and a backwards shot of Derwent Water

If there is one thing to mention about this camera is that it is ‘energy hungry’, maybe because I always use the electronic viewfinder.

I bought two spare batteries and keep them in my camera bag. Also, I am a little worried that I may look like a Hipster !!!

The small ‘s’ on the end of this model code definitely stands for SEXY !!

The never ending Stairwell inside The Arc de Triomphe, Paris

The never-ending Stairwell inside The Arc de Triomphe, Paris

Glass stairwell at Musee d'Orsay, Paris

Glass stairwell at Musee d’Orsay, Paris

21 replies »

  1. Great shots! Sadly, I think l’arc de triomphe was closed for visitors during the week I visited Paris (20 years ago). Climbing staircases of all the historical landmarks was one of my favorite aspects of that whole trip.

    • It was incredibly hot in the stairwells and I had to wait for a gap in humans before taking the shot. The view at the top is really great, I only wish I had gone up when it was just getting dark, the tail lights on the Champs Elysees would have been great to capture, will have to wait until next time :)

  2. Amazing photos Helen. The more I see shots like this, the more I want this camera. Still very much enjoying the fuji x experience. I just find the overall colours and textures absolutely fantastic. I would also very much like to get images like yours straight out of the camera. Well done!

    • Hello Peter, Yes I am still enjoying the Fuji X100S, my Nikon D610 is feeling a little neglected. But she will return :)

  3. […] The Fujifilm X100 had been on the top of my lust list for about a year. I stopped drooling, relented and bought (the updated Fujifilm X100s) this little delight, in silver. This is no technical review, there are plenty of blogs to gleen that information – I want great cameras with brilliant results. This camera comes with a fantastic APS-C sensor which is found in consumer SLR’s and handles amazingly in low light. The Fuji is a great urban/city camera, I bought the chestnut brown leather camera case with shoulder strap and this is how I proceeded to record my recent trip to Paris. Travelling around shooting at f2, it is amazing at capturing lens flare and bokeh. Where do I even begin to tell you about it capabilities, the square format shooting, shooting in film mode ‘Velvia’ for beautiful colour. B&W shots straight out of the bag, the beautiful sharp fixed 23mm lens, RAW or Jpeg. My friend Mark hit the nail on the head when he said to me recently “It makes image making so much fun, it makes you want to get out there and shoot”. Do I think as reported that it is the death of the DSLR, no I don’t, if you are a landscape photographer you still need a DSLR for better dynamic range and clarity. But, it is an amazing second camera.  […]

  4. […] The Fujifilm X100 had been on the top of my lust list for about a year. I stopped drooling, relented and bought (the updated Fujifilm X100s) this little delight, in silver. This is no technical review, there are plenty of blogs to gleen that information – I want great cameras with brilliant results. This camera comes with a fantastic APS-C sensor which is found in consumer SLR’s and handles amazingly in low light. The Fuji is a great urban/city camera, I bought the chestnut brown leather camera case with shoulder strap and this is how I proceeded to record my recent trip to Paris. Travelling around shooting at f2, it is amazing at capturing lens flare and bokeh. Where do I even begin to tell you about it capabilities, the square format shooting, shooting in film mode ‘Velvia’ for beautiful colour. B&W shots straight out of the bag, the beautiful sharp fixed 23mm lens, RAW or Jpeg. My friend Mark hit the nail on the head when he said to me recently “It makes image making so much fun, it makes you want to get out there and shoot”. Do I think as reported that it is the death of the DSLR, no I don’t, if you are a landscape photographer you still need a DSLR for better dynamic range and clarity. But, it is an amazing second camera…….  […]

  5. Wow, that is an expensive little number but what awesome results and lovely and compact too, my dSLR is so heavy and clumpy, the first image is absolutely fantastic. Was there any post processing done on them?

    I wonder if I could use the 1st image in a picture writing challenge I do on my blog called once more with feeling. I would of course give proper credit and a link back to your blog. Here is an example of a previous one on my blog. http://cognitivereflection.wordpress.com/2014/05/26/once-more-with-feeling-16/ so you get an idea of how it goes.

    If not it’s not a problem.

    • Hello and thank you for contacting me. There was very little work done on any of the Jpegs I shot, although I did have the camera set on ‘Velvia’ which increases image saturation. Go ahead and use my image if you wish (thank you for asking). Helen :)

      • They are very good. It is nice to know that not much post processing went on in them. i’d love to be able to get results like that but that is something else entirely :)

        Thanks for letting me use the image, It will go up on Monday with credit back to you and your blog.

  6. Wow, it handles the low light in the stairwells amazingly well! I’m impressed and the landscape ones look good too but here I think it is the eye of the photographer more than the camera. Certainly less to carry. Thank you for a non techo review and photos to back it up, they do say more than a 1000’d words.

    • Thank you, All of my recent square shots have all been taken with the Fuji. I agree we just want results. :)

  7. Some beautiful images here, I especially like the stairwells and the colour is amazing. Also your new camera is very stylish, you’re SO going to look like a hipster! Looking forward to seeing some more great images from you and this camera! :-)

I would love to know what you thought of this article...

Blog Stats

  • 78,101 hits

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,456 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,456 other followers

